Author Topic: D&D Questions  (Read 5643 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SchrodingersNinja

  • Board Games
  • *
  • Posts: 3,418
  • Friendship? Again?
Re: D&D Questions
« Reply #15 on: April 20, 2017, 03:15:44 PM »
Thanks, that clears that up!
"True glory consists in doing what deserves to be written, in writing what deserves to be read."
- Pliny the Elder

Offline SchrodingersNinja

  • Board Games
  • *
  • Posts: 3,418
  • Friendship? Again?
Re: D&D Questions
« Reply #16 on: April 23, 2017, 08:03:41 PM »
So, I have some other questions, but I think I'll probably be able to find the answers to most of them tonight.

One question I doubt will be answerable elsewhere is: how, on this forum, do we handle position? For example the defender fighting style lets me ads is allies within 5 feet.
"True glory consists in doing what deserves to be written, in writing what deserves to be read."
- Pliny the Elder

Offline Otter

  • Pirate Queen
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,963
  • Otterly Adorable
Re: D&D Questions
« Reply #17 on: April 24, 2017, 08:11:41 AM »
Depends on the DM.  For my games, if it's a bigger battle, where I already know that positioning is going to be important, I'll provide a map.  For small scuffles, usually I'm flexible and you can just ask in-game or via PM or chat about details, like, "Am I within 5ft of anyone else?  Can I move to get within 5ft of so and so?  Will this spell be in range to hit 2 or 3 enemies?" etc.
Follow the Irate Pirate on Facebook | Twitter

Offline SchrodingersNinja

  • Board Games
  • *
  • Posts: 3,418
  • Friendship? Again?
Re: D&D Questions
« Reply #18 on: April 24, 2017, 02:26:22 PM »
Makes sense, thanks for the info.

I think I know the answer to this question after reading the rules, but I'd like to confirm.

If I, as a paladin with access to Divine Smite, wanted to use it on a javelin I would make a thrown attack with my strength modifier to hit, and because the javelin is in the melee category Divine Smite would trigger, correct?

The relevant rule I can find says "when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack" which I take to mean any attack with a melee weapon, and not a melee attack with any weapon.

Source: http://www.5esrd.com/classes/paladin/
"True glory consists in doing what deserves to be written, in writing what deserves to be read."
- Pliny the Elder

Offline Otter

  • Pirate Queen
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,963
  • Otterly Adorable
Re: D&D Questions
« Reply #19 on: April 24, 2017, 02:59:38 PM »
If I, as a paladin with access to Divine Smite, wanted to use it on a javelin I would make a thrown attack with my strength modifier to hit, and because the javelin is in the melee category Divine Smite would trigger, correct?

The relevant rule I can find says "when you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack" which I take to mean any attack with a melee weapon, and not a melee attack with any weapon.

All of the weapons listed under the Melee weapons are listed there with the understanding that you will be using them to make melee attacks against your opponents.  "A melee weapon is used to attack a target within 5 feet of you, whereas a ranged weapon is used to attack a target at a distance."  There are a few weapons, Javelin included, that have the property "Thrown", meaning you may chose to use this as a ranged weapon instead.  In doing so, however, you are in effect changing the type of weapon it is, because you are changing how it is being used.

So, it has to be a "melee weapon" attack.  It doesn't matter what kind of weapon it's intended to be, it matters how you're using it: Melee vs Ranged.  If you grab your longbow like a bat and swing it at an enemy as an improvised melee weapon, I'd say that counts as a melee attack.  If you're throwing the javelin, it doesn't qualify as melee any longer because you're using it to hit an enemy at range.  (It also has to be an attack with a weapon, as opposed to a spell.)

Furthermore, the spirit of the Divine Smite spell is that you are the conduit for your deity's divine energy.  You apply it straight to your opponent, sometimes through a short distance of a weapon, kind of like how electricity would also be able to jump through a weapon.  It makes far less sense to do that with a ranged weapon.

Hope that helps to clarify!  =)
« Last Edit: April 24, 2017, 03:09:27 PM by Otter »
Follow the Irate Pirate on Facebook | Twitter

Offline SchrodingersNinja

  • Board Games
  • *
  • Posts: 3,418
  • Friendship? Again?
Re: D&D Questions
« Reply #20 on: April 24, 2017, 03:01:38 PM »
Perfect explanation, thanks again.
"True glory consists in doing what deserves to be written, in writing what deserves to be read."
- Pliny the Elder

Offline SchrodingersNinja

  • Board Games
  • *
  • Posts: 3,418
  • Friendship? Again?
Re: D&D Questions
« Reply #21 on: April 27, 2017, 10:32:15 AM »
I have a question about certain shelter spells.

1. Rope trick- With a 1 hour duration what are the uses? Is this long enough for a short rest? Or would the best use be to get out of danger for an hour to heal and prepare a few spells?

2. Tiny Hut- Am I correct that the 1 minute casting time limits this spell to out-of-combat?

3. Magnificent Mansion- It says creatures inside when the spell ends are expelled, but what if a player brought some objects with him or her and left them? Would they be ejected as well, would they disappear, or would they be present in the Mansion next time it is cast?

4. Demiplane- Can a Teleportation Circle be used to enter or exit? Could Gate? Or is the Demiplane spell the only method of access?

5. If someone wanted a permanent Magnificent Mansion style dwelling, would the course of action be to build a castle in a secure area and make a permanent teleportation circle? Or is there some way to give the Spell Magnificent Mansion permanence?
"True glory consists in doing what deserves to be written, in writing what deserves to be read."
- Pliny the Elder

Offline thatchickenguy

  • Board Games
  • *
  • Posts: 367
  • B'gock!
Re: D&D Questions
« Reply #22 on: April 27, 2017, 12:18:50 PM »
I have a question about certain shelter spells.

1. Rope trick- With a 1 hour duration what are the uses? Is this long enough for a short rest? Or would the best use be to get out of danger for an hour to heal and prepare a few spells?

As written Rope Trick should be long enough to get in a short rest, although you should ask your Dm to be absolutely sure. Just to clarify on preparing spells - this is something that, with very few exceptions, is done after a long rest. If you are a character that prepares spells, you are required to be well rested (mechanically, take a long rest) and spend time after that rest preparing spells. It's not something you can do in random downtime.

2. Tiny Hut- Am I correct that the 1 minute casting time limits this spell to out-of-combat?

Technically yes, that is correct. If there were some emergency situation where this needed to be cast in combat, 1 minute equals 10 rounds of combat (every player and enemy takes 10 turns). So the player casting Tiny Hut would literally do nothing but cast for a full 10 rounds, while the rest of the party would have to defend him/her so that concentration was not broken. It would be very difficult to cast during combat, but not impossible.

3. Magnificent Mansion- It says creatures inside when the spell ends are expelled, but what if a player brought some objects with him or her and left them? Would they be ejected as well, would they disappear, or would they be present in the Mansion next time it is cast?

As written, it appears that a new Mansion is created every time the spell is cast, so no items taken and left would be recalled with the next casting. It would be up to the DM whether the items were ejected or simply vanished, since the spell description does not specify.

4. Demiplane- Can a Teleportation Circle be used to enter or exit? Could Gate? Or is the Demiplane spell the only method of access?

As written, Teleportation Circle can only teleport to a spot on the same plane of existence, so that one wouldn't work. Gate would work, but only to bring someone into the Demiplane. Someone couldn't use it to teleport to the demiplane from the outside. And to state the obvious, someone who can cast Demiplane who knows any details of your Demiplane can teleport to your Demiplane.

5. If someone wanted a permanent Magnificent Mansion style dwelling, would the course of action be to build a castle in a secure area and make a permanent teleportation circle? Or is there some way to give the Spell Magnificent Mansion permanence?

You should check out an Instant Fortress. It sounds right up your alley. Very rare, but worth it. But until you come across one - your way is probably the best bet.
I dream of a world where chickens can cross the road without having their motives questioned!

Offline SchrodingersNinja

  • Board Games
  • *
  • Posts: 3,418
  • Friendship? Again?
Re: D&D Questions
« Reply #23 on: April 27, 2017, 03:17:14 PM »
Thanks for the explanations. Just wondering about practicality of using spells to live the sweet life.
"True glory consists in doing what deserves to be written, in writing what deserves to be read."
- Pliny the Elder